Biography

Red Bull Kayane2

Name :
Marie-Laure “Kayane” Norindr
Jobs : Professional fighting game player, TV host on Game One, Speaker on NRJ-Games, E-Sport Specialist and Blogger
Sponsors : Red Bull, Mad Catz
Age : 24 (17/06/1991)
Town : Paris

Biography straight out of Wikipedia

Marie-Laure Norindr, alias Kayane, born on June in Paris,is a French professional video game player. She performs in tournaments on multiple fighting games, mostly on the SoulCalibur, Dead or Alive and Street Fighter series, organizes gaming-themed events and also appears on the French TV channel Game One in the weelky show Game One e-sports since October 2013.She’s also a part of #TEAMG1, a show also aired on Game One, alongside Julien Tellouck (the show’s host), Marcus (former collaborator of the TV channel Nolife and currently on Game One), Anh-phan, Genius and Kythis.

teamg1_gameone

Gaming career

Of Laotian and Vietnamese descent, Marie-Laure Norindr was born in Paris on and grew up in Argenteuil (Val-d’Oise). Kayane started playing SoulCalibur around the age of 7. She participated in her first tournament at the age of 9 and went to become vice-champion in France on Dead or Alive 2, and then vice-champion in France on SoulCalibur the following year.

At age 12, she represented the French team for SoulCalibur II at the World Games Cup and helped France ranking vice World Champion in team and solo battles. In the solo category of the world tournament, she ranked  4th out of 128 contestants.

kayane_12ans_wgc
France VS USA

The same year, she also won her first major tournament against SoulCalibur II’s world vice-champion DTN 10-5 and even won her first 1500€ cash prize.

kayane_12ans_victoire_chèque
First cash prize won at the age of 12

She then got to widen her trophy haul by dutifully participating in various events in France in order to be able to participate in more worldwide events, the first of which being the biggest one of all : 2009’s Evolution Championship Series in Las Vegas. She barely missed the top 8 on SoulCalibur IV, ranking 9th.

Coming back to Evolution Championship Series in 2010, she won the title of Female World Champion on Super Street Fighter IV. This woman-only competition was unique to Evolution Championship Series 2010.

esport_kayane_8
Victory at EVO 2010 in Las Vegas

In January 2012, the 2012 edition of the Guinness World Records awarded her with the world record for a number of fighting games tournaments won by a female player (top 3), with an impressive track record of 42 podiums.

Kayane_Guinness_Records
Guinness World Record of most podiums in fighting videogame competitions : 42 podiums

In 2012, she played in three Major League Gaming tournaments in the United States, ranking 7th, then 2nd and finally 3rd at the MLG Arena (that reunited the tournament’s previous top 8), and landed 2nd at the CEO in Orlando on SoulCalibur V.

hawkeye_kayane
MLG Arena in the United States reuniting the TOP 8 best MLG players

Kayane is regularly invited to national events (gaming and anime conventions) and around the world (2012 and 2013 in the United States, in Japan and in the Caribbeans in Saint-Martin).

kayane_parismanga
Kayane at Paris Manga

The characters Kayane plays are the ones that resonnate with her on a personnal level : Xianghua, Viola and Leixia, Chun-Li, Lili, Alisa, Xiaoyu, Kokoro, Ayane and Kasumi.

Ambassador

She naturally became a person to contact within the game’s industry, from publishers, accessory and hardware manufacturers, but also more specifically fighting game producers, like :

  • Katsuhiro Harada (Tekken Producer) ;
  • Hisaharu Tago and Daishi Odashima (SoulCalibur Producers) ;
  • Yohei Shimbori and Yosuke Hayashi (Dead or Alive Producers).
kayane_harada_interview
Interview with Tekken Producer Katsuhiro Harada

She made quite a few private interviews, with questions specifically made with fighting game fans in mind. In SoulCalibur: Broken Destiny, players can create customizable characters. Namco Bandai Games integrated one specifically named « Kayane » giving a small hommage to the champion, something the publisher would later do once again in SoulCalibur V.

During EVO 2011 in Las Vegas, Daishi Odashima himself gave her the original artwork of Xianghua et Leixia to thank her for her dedication to the game.

daishi_kayaneJPG
Artwork of Xianghua and Leixia given by Soul Calibur V Producer, Daishi Odashima

During SoulCalibur V’slaunch in 2012, Namco Bandai Games even used her likeness as well as SoulCalibur IV champion « Scud » to create an advertisement campaign directly geared towards players.

TV Host

Invited to a debate with Marcus on the TV channel Game One in late 2012, she quickly gets to work with him to co-host the show as a journalist specialized in fighting games and gaming competitions.

marcus_kayane_debat
First experience as a TV show host with Marcus

In October 2013, the channel announces a show 100% geared towards eSport named “Game One Esport” ,prepared and presented by Kayane, and back up by Gen1us, a famous Tekken player.

Event Planner

The Kayane Sessions she frequently organizes are meet-ups made to reunite players from all of the fighting game spectrum and make people grow together as a strong community. These events occur once every two months would gather hundreds of players in various places around Paris, like the Cybercafé Milk Opéra (2010), the Utopia Gamespace (2011), the Meltdown (late 2012), le dernier bar avant la fin du monde (2013) or even la tête dans les nuages (late 2013).

kayane_session640
Group photo of a Kayane Session

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Back to top button
Close
Close

Kayane

Biographie

Red Bull Kayane2

Nom :
Marie-Laure « Kayane » Norindr
Fonctions : Joueuse Professionnelle de jeux de combat, Animatrice TV sur Game One, Animatrice sur NRJ-Games, Spécialiste E-Sport et Blogueuse
Sponsors : Red Bull, Mad Catz
Age : 24 (17/06/1991)
Ville : Paris

Biographie tirée de Wikipedia

Marie-Laure Norindr, alias Kayane, née le à Paris, est une joueuse professionnelle française de jeu vidéo. Elle joue sur plusieurs jeux de combat en tournoi, essentiellement sur les séries SoulCalibur, Dead or Alive et Street Fighter, organise des événements vidéoludiques et est aussi animatrice de télévision sur Game One dans l’émission hebdomadaire Game One e-sports depuis octobre 2013. Elle est aussi chroniqueuse dans l’émission #TEAMG1, diffusée sur la chaîne Game One en compagnie de Julien Tellouck (présentateur de l’émission), Marcus (présentateur sur Nolife et sur Game One), Anh-phan, Genius et Kythis.

teamg1_gameone

Parcours de joueuse

D’ascendance laotienne et vietnamienne, Marie-Laure Norindr naît à Paris le et grandit à Argenteuil (Val-d’Oise). Kayane joue à SoulCalibur depuis l’âge de 7 ans. Elle a participé à son premier tournoi à l’âge de 9 ans et s’est classée vice-championne de France de Dead or Alive 2, puis vice-championne de France de SoulCalibur l’année suivante.

À l’âge de 12 ans, elle représente l’équipe de France au grand tournoi mondial World Games Cup à SoulCalibur II en équipe et la France se classe vice-championne du monde en équipe et solo. Au tournoi mondial solo, elle se classe 4e du monde sur 128 participants.

kayane_12ans_wgc

L’équipe France VS USA

Elle a aussi gagné cette même année son premier gros tournoi, contre DTN, le vice-champion du monde de SoulCalibur II, sur un score de 10-5, et y a remporté son premier chèque d’une valeur de 1 500 €.

kayane_12ans_victoire_chèque

Premier chèque remporté de 1500euros à 12ans

Elle a ensuite étoffé son palmarès avec constance et assiduité sur la scène française pour peu à peu étendre sa participation à des tournois à l’étranger. Le premier aura été le célèbre tournoi mondial Evolution Championship Series en 2009 à Las Vegas, à SoulCalibur IV, et elle y a raté de peu le top 8 en se classant 9e au monde.

De retour à l’Evolution Championship Series en 2010, elle a obtenu le titre de Championne du monde féminine de Super Street Fighter IV à l’Evolution 2010 à Las Vegas. Ce format féminin aura été un événement unique à l’Evolution Championship Series 2010.

esport_kayane_8

Victoire à l’EVO 2010 à Las Vegas

En janvier 2012, l’édition 2012 du livre Guinness des records lui attribue le record féminin mondial du nombre de podiums (top 3) au cours de compétitions de jeux de combats, avec le score de 42 occurrences.

Kayane_Guinness_Records

Guinness World Records du nombre de podiums dans des tournois mixtes de jeux de combat : 42 podiums

Courant 2012, elle a participé à trois reprises au tournoi Major League Gaming aux États-Unis, se classant respectivement 7e, puis 2e et enfin 3e au MLG Arena (qui regroupe le top 8 du dernier tournoi)8, et s’assure une 2e place au CEO d’Orlando, toujours sur SoulCalibur V.

hawkeye_kayane

MLG Arena aux Etats-Unis réunissant le TOP 8 des meilleurs joueurs MLG

Kayane est régulièrement invitée à des événements nationaux (conventions de jeux vidéo et d’animes) ou à l’étranger (2012 et 2013 aux États-Unis, au Japon et aux Caraïbes à Saint-Martin).

kayane_parismanga

Scène Kayane au Paris Manga pour affronter le public

Les personnages que joue Kayane sont par affinité et sensation de proximité toujours féminins : Xianghua, Viola et Leixia, Chun-Li, Lili, Alisa, Xiaoyu, Kokoro, Ayane et Kasumi.

Ambassadrice

Elle est devenue avec le temps un interlocuteur naturel de nombreux acteurs du monde du jeu vidéo, éditeurs, fabricants d’accessoires ou de hardware, mais aussi plus spécifiquement de producteurs de jeu de combats, comme :

  • Katsuhiro Harada (producteur de Tekken) ;
  • Hisaharu Tago et Daishi Odashima (producteurs de SoulCalibur) ;
  • Yohei Shimbori et Yosuke Hayashi (producteurs de Dead or Alive).
kayane_harada_interview

Interview du producteur de Tekken : Katsuhiro Harada

Elle a réalisé au cours de ses rencontres plusieurs interviews privées, aux contenus adaptés aux joueurs qui pratiquent ou apprécient la compétition de sport électronique. Dans SoulCalibur: Broken Destiny, les joueurs ont la possibilité de personnaliser les personnages, Namco Bandai Games en intègre directement un nommé « Kayane » pour rendre hommage à la championne, ce que l’éditeur fait à nouveau plus tard dans SoulCalibur V.

À l’occasion de l’EVO 2011 à Las Vegas, Daishi Odashima en personne lui a offert l’artwork original et unique de Xianghua et Leixia pour la remercier de sa fidélité envers le jeu.

daishi_kayaneJPG

Artwork de Xianghua et Leixia offert par le producteur de Soul Calibur V, Daishi Odashima

Lors du lancement de SoulCalibur V début 2012, Namco Bandai Games a également emprunté son image aux cotés du champion de SoulCalibur IV « Scud » afin de réaliser une campagne de communication presse et internet tournée vers les joueurs.

Animatrice

Invitée au débat de Marcus sur la chaîne Game One en fin d’année 2012, elle est retenue aux côtés de l’animateur pour coprésenter régulièrement l’émission en tant que journaliste spécialiste du jeu vidéo de compétition.

marcus_kayane_debat

Première expérience d’animatrice TV avec Marcus

En octobre 2013, la chaîne annonce une émission 100 % consacrée au sport électronique « Game One Esport » préparée et présentée par Kayane, qui est assistée par Gen1us, célèbre joueur de Tekken.

Organisatrice d’événements

Les Kayane Sessions qu’elle organise régulièrement sont des rencontres visant à réunir un grand nombre de joueurs de multiples jeux de combats pour favoriser l’entraide communautaire et inciter de nouveaux joueurs à jouer et progresser en groupe. Ces journées, organisées environ tous les deux mois, regroupent une centaine de joueurs environ dans des lieux parisiens comme le Cybercafé Milk Opéra (2010), l’Utopia Gamespace (2011), le Meltdown (fin 2012), le dernier bar avant la fin du monde (début 2013) ou encore la tête dans les nuages (fin 2013).

kayane_session640

Photo de groupe d’une Kayane Session